Monday, May 11, 2009

BC can make history by supporting the Single Transferable Vote

On November 9, 1989, the Berlin Wall started to crumble. The citizens of the former East Germany exercised their right to travel past the wall and into West Berlin and West Germany. It was a historic occasion that started the process of providing democracy to 17 million Germans living in the east. Ir wasn't just a physical wall that started to crumble; an ideological wall that limited what people should believe and how they should behave crumbled that night.

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 will become one of the most historic days in British Columbia and Canada overall. You will have a choice when voting in the referendum to choose between a voting system that keeps walls up between you and your fellow British Columbians or a new voting system that tears down those walls to your neighbours. You have the opportunity to open your minds to a better democracy. You have the right to participate in a better democracy by first voting for the Single Transferable Vote (STV) in the referendum.

Many of your fellow citizens have been campaigning for STV for many weeks, months, and years. Most of them are average British Columbians who believe in making democracy better for themselves and possibly their children and grandchildren.

A lot of well known British Columbians and other Canadians express their strong support for STV. They include Christy Clark, Gary Mason, Andrew Coyne, Paul Wells, David Suzuki, Gordon Gibson, Deborah Grey, Rafe Mair, Bill Siksay, Ted White, Farley Mowat, Preston Manning, Lorne Nystrom, and many others. They come from all walks of life and hold different political viewpoints. They all share their commitment in supporting STV. You have the opportunity to share your commitment in making democracy better by supporting the Single Transferable Vote.

British Columbians and your fellow Canadians will be celebrating on May 13 when the people of BC give their firm support for the Single Transferable Vote.

Thank you for all your effort in making democracy better for British Columbia.

Vote for BC-STV!

No comments: